I think my reflections are largely made visible in the blog. Looking back to the journey so far, it has been quite an amazing journey. I have learnt so much:

what have i learnt?

  • I have a go at using computers that I don’t know with more cofidence: android and apple computers, and laptops.
  • I have learnt that getting to know and use new programmes and apps takes a lot of time and perseverance. I think I would rate myself quite high on perseverance – I have not given up with difficult programmes such as photoshop or indesign, or techsoft for Lasercutting. I am more forgiving if things don’t work out for me, or if I can’t remember an action on the computer that I have done before. I know that practicing and repeating actions is necessary in my case and will get me there in the end.
  • The course has only partly met my expectations. On the whole, it was much less practical than I had expected, and much more electronic activity. But I am proud of myself that I did not give up. There was plenty to make up for this!
  • To my own surprise I have hugely enjoyed the research process, looking up artists, architects etc., getting to know contemporary art, projects, buildings.
  • I have discovered that the research bit of the course creates a very welcome challenge, which I am able to meet and enjoy.
  • I have also found ways to use the skills that I am good at: powerpoint; bead work; type setting; cutting and glueing; reflecting.
  • Above all, I have never thought about art and creativity in the way that is taught at Brookes. This has been steep and very interesting learning. I appreciate art in a completely new way. Researching artists and reading what they say about their own work has given me new insight into how artists go about their work. For example the data artists – a world I had no idea existed even.
  • I have learnt that creating takes time. I recognise the design process and go through it with much more awareness, and intensity of thinking, dreaming and research. The double diamond design process that Sarah introduced us to is helping me to get through the uncomfortable space of feeling stuck and not knowing where to go next. I now know that this is an integral phase of the creative process, and if I am feeling desperate and ready to give it all up, or feeling incredibly stressed, I have confidence that this is transitory. I have known and experienced that creativity needs emptiness to emerge. I now also recognise that it can require an overcrowded space with too many directions to choose from.
  • I got to know the tools in the workshop and clay as a very lovely material. It has given me confidence to use powertools such as electric drills and band saws and sanding machines, and maybe even laser cutting.
  • I am beginning to manage the time better. I have made a promise to myself that the course has priority for the time being. But recognise that for spiritual comfort I also need my singing and time with friends. I give myself permission to cancel when things get too busy!
  • I have made friends with fellow students 40 years or more younger than me!
  • I have discovered new aspects about myself. During the day we spent at the Railway station I hugely enjoyed going up to people to have a little conversation. This is something new, when previously I have always thought of myself as being shy and introverted!
  • I have always been quite self directed, but I have also an ingrained respect for authority. This used to make me do what is expected without querying it! Now I am beginning to see that I am just doing this course for my own pleasure. Consequently I choose carefully what I complete for the course and am more confident to leave out what I don’t find interesting or helpful for my journey. After all, the creative process should arise from the inside……

What have i learnt about my art?

  • I have chosen pathways outside my comfort zone. I have deliberately NOT chosen painting and fine art, because I was curious to explore other ways of expressing ideas.
  • I am a little disappointed that I have not had an opportunity to explore screen printing. But, I have my doubts that this is a technique for me, because it seems to me rather precise and with very clear-cut boundaries, lines, shapes.
  • Even though I have shown perseverance and determination, I can get bored and tired with executing ideas and making things, when the actual making takes a lot of time. Watercolour painting is a very immediate process where you instantly make a mark and see the effect.
  • I heard myself sing while working with wood or clay, or working out things with wire. I think those moments of being with myself, the material and my hands have been very happy moments, even when things (like the wrong type of wire for the job) did not go as hoped or planned.
  • I know that electronic work is not what I enjoy. I have also discovered that the process from having an idea for a 3D object to bringing it out into being is not straightforward and can take a lot of exploration. Even sketching an initial idea is actually a very difficult thing!
  • I do enjoy the challenge of combining 2 or 3 ideas and making something unique and new.
  • So, where do my future projects emerge from? I don’t know, but maybe they will somehow come about……

Leave a comment